Download PDF (54.7 MB)

Download La_Forte_1974.epub (1.4 MB)


In Leaders of Reform Robert Sherman La Forte examines the intricacies of shifting factions within the state majority party over a two decade period, from the Boss-Busters and political machines of the early 1900s through the formation of a new party behind Theodore Roosevelt in 1913. He discusses the motives, activities, accomplishments, and failures of the progressive Republicans. He provides excellent vignettes of major leaders such as William Allen White, Arthur Capper, Joseph L. Bristow, and Charles Curtis, as well as lesser-known characters such as Walter Roscoe Stubbs, Edward H. Hoch, and Cy Leland, Jr. In providing a detailed analysis of virtually all Kansas progressive Republican leaders during the era, La Forte has made a valuable contribution to both state and national political history. Description Robert Sherman La Forte was professor of history at the University of North Texas, where he taught for thirty years. In addition to this book, he coauthored three books on World War II history and the authorized history of the University of North Texas. With a New Foreword by Charles Delgadillo. Charles Delgadillo is lecturer in history at the California State Polytechnic University, Pomona, and Norco College, in California. He is the author of Crusader for Democracy: The Political Life of William Allen White. This Kansas Open Books title is funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Humanities Open Book Program.



Publication Date



University Press of Kansas


x, 322 pp.


Rights Statement

© 1974, 2021 University Press of Kansas. All Rights Reserved. First Published 1974. Reissued 2020. The text of this book is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International Public License.

Rights Status

Open Access

Leaders of Reform: Progressive Republicans in Kansas, 1900-1916