Date of Award

Winter 12-2-2022

Document Type


Degree Name

Master of Music (MMUS)



First Advisor

Mr. Robert Kehle

Second Advisor

Dr. John Ross

Third Advisor

Dr. Todd Hastings

Fourth Advisor

Dr. Neil Snow


This document analyzes American composer Todd Goodman's 2012 work for solo tuba titled Tuba Concerto. It contains 10 chapters, including one for each of the three movements of the work: an introduction providing biographical information on the composer and context for the work within the late twentieth century and early twenty-first century; a performer’s analysis on the solo tuba part; and the biographical and performance information of composers also performed on the accompanying recital. Each of the four chapters includes theoretical analyses regarding each of Goodman's movements and practical considerations for performers of the work to observe. The thesis also includes extended program notes of the accompanying works performed on the tuba performance recital on December 2, 2022. The program notes for each section includes biographical information, musical analysis, performance practice, and other pertinent information. Works include music from Todd Goodman, Ian Lester, Tyler Ono, Anthony Plog, Jullian C. Torres, and Barbara York.


To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.