Date of Award

Spring 4-30-2021

Document Type


Degree Name

Master of Music (MM)



First Advisor

Dr. A. Douglas Whitten

Second Advisor

Dr. John Ross

Third Advisor

Dr. Andrew Chybowski

Fourth Advisor

Dr. Peter Chung


A document analyzing American composer Vincent Persichetti’s 1961 work for solo tuba titled Serenade No. 12 for Solo Tuba. The document comprises eight chapters. One each for the six movements of the work, an introduction providing biographical information on the composer and context for the work within art music of the mid twentieth century, and a conclusion connecting the analyses of the six movements. Within each chapter on the six movements of the work there are theoretical analyses of the music as well as practical considerations for performers of the work to observe.



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.