Date of Award

Spring 5-13-2020

Document Type


Degree Name

Master of Music (MM)



First Advisor

Reena Berger Natenberg

Second Advisor


Third Advisor



An abstract of the thesis by

Hanxue Gao

My Master thesis consists of a graduate-level piano recital and a supporting document of program notes. The repertoire for this recital includes the following works: The Prelude and Fugue in E major, BWV 878, from the Well-Tempered Clavier - Book IIby Johann Sebastian Bach; Piano Sonata in F major No. 22, Op. 54, by Ludwig Van Beethoven; Etude in G-sharp minor, Op. 8, No. 9, by Alexander Nikolayevich Scriabin; Andante Spianato and Grande Polonaise Brilliante Opus 22 by Frédéric Chopin and Three Preludes for the Piano by the young Chinese composer, Shuai Zhang. For the benefit of all pianists studying these pieces, therewill be discussion on the biographical information and the musical style of each composer and selection. Following, there will be an analysis of each piece and performance suggestions will be provided.


The musical videos could be accessed by the following links.



Video links.docx (11 kB)
Musical Video Links



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.