Date of Award

Spring 5-12-2018

Document Type


Degree Name

Master of Music (MM)



First Advisor

Dr. Raúl Munguía

Second Advisor

Dr. Matthew Montague

Third Advisor

Dr. Donald Viney


The purpose of this thesis is to provide an understanding of the works conducted on the author’s graduate conducting recital at Pittsburg State University. Biographical information of the composer, historical context of the pieces, program notes, and performance considerations will be included for each piece conducted.


Works included: Columbia by Dr. John C. Ross, Violin Concerto in D K. 218 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, and The Pirates of Penzance by W. S. Gilbert and Sir Arthur Sullivan.


To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.