Date of Award

Fall 12-16-2016

Document Type


Degree Name

Master of Music (MM)



First Advisor

Dr. Reena Berger Natenberg


The Graduate Piano Recital is the main recital of the Master’s degree which is one hour in length. The repertoire for my graduate piano recital includes: Estampes (Pagodes, La soirée dans Grenade and Jardins sous la pluie), by Claude Debussy; Variationen über das Motiv von Bach S.180 by Franz Liszt; and Piano Sonata No. 21 in C major, Op. 53 by Ludwig Van Beethoven. This thesis will discuss the biography and musical style of each composer, the structure and analysis of each piece, and provide performance suggestions for each piece as well.


To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.