Date of Award

Spring 5-12-2017

Document Type


Degree Name

Master of Music (MM)



First Advisor

Dr. Reena Natenberg (

Second Advisor

Dr. Russell Jones (

Third Advisor

Dr. Ray Willard (



An Abstract of the Thesis by

Zhengyuan Tao

This thesis will include program notes for advanced piano repertoire representative of the Baroque, Classical, and Romantic music style periods. For each work, there will be biographical information about the composer, a thorough analysis and a presentation of performance suggestions. The works to be discussed include the French Suite No. 5 in G Major, BWV 816 by Johann Sebastian Bach; the Sonata in C Major, Hob. XVI: 50; Vier Klavierstücke, Op.119 by Johannes Brahms; and Berceuse Op. 57 in D Flat Major by Frederic Chopin.



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.