HIGHWAY ASSOCIATION OF KANSAS

Delegates to the state meeting of the Kansas Jefferson Highway Association met at Paola on Friday, Feb. 29th, 1924, for the purpose of organization "To keep the Jefferson Highway located, marked and established as originally marked, established and recorded as shown by records of the Secretary of State of Kansas," and to elect officers. Counties were represented by delegates as follows:

Bourbon County:	H. A.	Russell, Fort Scott.
Linn County:	C. E.	Bennett, Mcund City Dallas, """" Morse, """
Johnson County:		Lcrimer, Olathe

F. E. Lorimer, Olathe W. F. Wilkerson, Spring Hill Ed Blair,

Miami County:

Charles Eaton, Hillsdale Paul Russell, Paola T. L. Youmans, Osawatomie

Other members present:

Election of officers and Directors resulted as follows:

President, J. O. Morse, Mound City, Linn Courty. Vice President, Frank Rushton, Rosedale, Myandotte Jounty. Secretary, Wm. G. Frank, Osawatomie, Miami County. Treasurer, Paul Russell, Paola, Miami County. Directors: Johnson County - Ed Blair, Spring Hill. Miami County - T. L. Youmans, Osawatomie. Linn County - E. D. Bennett, Mound City. Wyandotte County- open Bourbon County- open

The Chair named the following committee on constitution: Paul Russell, Paola; T. F. Russell, Olathe; C. E. Dallas, Mound City; H. A. Russell, Fort Scott, and J. O. Morse, Mound City.

The committee's draft of constitution was read to the members present, and after a few alterations and additions it was on motion unanimously adopted by the Association, the adopted form being as follows:

AR**CICLE I.** MAME

This Association shall be known as The Jefferson Highway Association of Kansas.

ARTICLE II. OBJECT.

The object of this Association is to keep the Jefferson Highway located, marked and established as originally marked, established and recorded as shown by the records of the Secretary of State of Nansas; to prevent the use of the Jefferson Highway marks on any other road in the State of Kansas, to advertise said road and to work in all legitimate ways to promote the permanent improvement of said road.

ARTICLE III. OFFICERS, MEETINGS, DELEGATES.

The officers of said Association shall consist of president, vice-president, secretary and treasurer, and one director from each county in the Association. Said officers shall be elected at the state meeting to be held once each year, between the first and tenth days of May, beginning with the year 1925, on such day and at such place as the directors may fix. Each county along said road in the State shall be entitled to three (3) delegates to the State meeting, said delegates to be selected by the local organizations of each county supporting said road.

ARTICLE IV. COUNTY ASSOCIATION.

There shall be maintained a County Association in each county in Kansas through which the Jefferson Highway passes, which shall hold a meeting once each year prior to the state meeting and select three delegates to the state meeting of this Association and attend to such matters as may promote the interests of said road locally.

ARTICLE V. DUTY OF LOCAL ORGANIZATION.

It shall be the duty of the local organization of each county to keep up the marking of the road across its county.

ARTICLE VI. FUNDS.

The general funds necessary to keep up the advertising and general expense of the Association shall be determined by the Board of Directors and apportioned to the several counties, and such funds shall be raised as each local organization may determine.

ARTICLE VII. VACANCIES

Any vacancy in state officers may be filled by the members of the Board of Directors.

ARTICLE VIII. DIRECTORS' MEETINGS.

The Board of Directors shall meet at the call of the Chairman. The Chairman shall call a meeting at the request of any two members of the Board or on his own motion.

ARTICLE IX. ALENDMENTS.

This constitution may be amended by a majority vote at any state meeting.

-0-

On motion the secretary was instructed to write the Secretary of State of the organization of this Association and its purpose, and also to notify the State Highway Engineer.

On motion the secretary was further instructed to notify the several Chambers of Commerce in towns along this highway in Kansas of the action taken at this meeting.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned.

Wm. C. Frank, Secretary.

John O. Morse, President.

-2-